There’s a terrible new web site out there engaging in, at best, copyright infringement, and at worse, fraud. It’s called AllThis.

If AllThis targets you, they will:
- steal your photo & bio off Twitter
- slap it on an AllThis page, to make it look as if you endorse their system
- put up a big yellow “BUY” button on it
- and a teensy weensy greyed out notice, for the eagle-eyed, which admits (indirectly) that you’re not actually endorsing it… YET
- tweet about you with @allthisfeed, claiming your time is for sale
- argue with you when you tell them to stop stealing people’s stuff

They will remove you from their site if you threaten them. But no matter how many people do that, they continue to pretend to not “understand” why you are “upset”. And they keep on thieving from other people.
Clearly individual complaints are falling on deaf ears. They are not interested in coming up with a way to grow their business without misrepresentation and theft.
So, the best way to stop this is to enforce our copyrights. If they steal from you, don’t bother telling them to remove the profile.
Send a takedown notice to their DNS service and web host
Here’s who to write:
Web Host: GoGrid. Their email is abuse@gogrid.com.
DNS Service: Dyn.com. Their email is abuse@dyndns.com.
NEW: Asset Host: Amazon Cloudfront. Their email is abuse@amazonaws.com.
Here’s what you can send:
SUBJECT: Abuse Report – Copyright Infringement
I am the copyright owner of the photograph being infringed at: (insert URL here)
A screenshot of my image being infringed is included to assist with its removal from the infringing Web sites.
Moreover, this web site claims to represent me, has a prominent “BUY” button displayed next to my (stolen) photograph and bio, and is tweeting that people can “buy time” to talk with me on their site. I never signed up for an account, gave them my email address, or anything that would constitute permission or endorsement of this service. As far as I’m concerned, this comes close to fraud.
This letter is official notification under the provisions of Section 512(c) of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (“DMCA”) to effect removal of the above-reported infringements. I request that you immediately issue a cancellation message as specified in RFC 1036 for the specified postings and prevent the infringer, who is identified by its Web address, from posting the infringing photographs to your servers in the future. Please be advised that law requires you, as a service provider, to “expeditiously remove or disable access to” the infringing photographs upon receiving this notice. Noncompliance may result in a loss of immunity for liability under the DMCA.
I have a good faith belief that use of the material in the manner complained of here is not authorized by me, the copyright holder, or the law. The information provided here is accurate to the best of my knowledge. I swear under penalty of perjury that I am the copyright holder.
Please send me at the address noted below a prompt response indicating the actions you have taken to resolve this matter.
Sincerely,
Your Name
Is this justified?
Yes, it is.
I and several others have tweeted with the @AllThis account to try to get them to change their ways, but they don’t “understand” that what they are doing is wrong. Nor will they stop doing it to other people.
More importantly, copyright infringement (and borderline fraudulent representation) like this is certainly against the acceptable use policies for both GoGrid and Dyn.com.
So, this is our last and best resort.




